Look for Less…Gone Bad

Let me start by saying that I love a designer imposter, I mean interpretation, as much as anyone.  I simply can’t afford to pay the kind of money Balenciaga, Chanel, and Marc Jacobs want to charge me for something and since I can often find it for a tenth of the cost, it just doesn’t make any sense.  When I find designer inspired pieces that I think look good, are stylish and work, I frequently post them in my “Look for Less” items… as do many bloggers out there.  But what I want to note in this post is that just because something may look like the designer original doesn’t mean you should automatically buy it or in this case, endorse it.

For example, take these shoes from Go Jane:

picture-15If they look familiar, it’s because this is their dumbed down version of the Louboutin Armadillo d’Orsay shoes I posted over Christmas.  If you remember anything about the originals, they’re beautiful, elegant and look nothing like these.  When it comes to finding designer copies, there are times (like this one) when you should look for the inspiration behind the item, instead of an exact replica.  In this case, find a pair of electric blue heels that channel this same look…like these!

Everything that goes up on this blog has to pass my style test and ultimately, has to be something I’d actually wear….I would never post an item just becasue it cost $9.99!!

So trust your style instincts and learn to weed out the deal gems from all of the other garbage out there!

2 Comments

Filed under Look for Less

2 responses to “Look for Less…Gone Bad

  1. I have to agree with you on this one. However praise has to go to GoJane. I’m fro England but lived in New York over the summer and GoJane does have some steals!

  2. cheapchica11

    I love GoJane! They have amazing prices and many of their styles are right on trend…but they totally missed the mark on this one!

Leave a Reply

