Dear CheapChica

I love dressing up, but most of the dressy dresses I have found are either sleeveless or strapless.  I like having my shoulders covered (short sleeves are fine).  Most of the time, I’ll cover my shoulders and arms by wearing wraps or cardigans.  This works fine, but the wraps/cardigans not only cover my arms, but they also cover the beauty and detail of the dresses I’m wearing.  Any suggestions on some pretty dresses that come with some type of sleeve?
Thanks,

Ali

Thanks so much for bringing this to my attention…I had never noticed the lack of dresses with sleeves!!

55614877-012I for one, love the idea of a sleeve on a cocktail dress.  I think it gives the dress a very vintage and ladylike quality about it, especially if you opt for a bracelet sleeve.  Another way to cover your shoulders without feeling too exposed is to try a sheer sleeve.  This way you get the coverage you’re looking for, but the lace allows some of your skin to show through to make the look sexier and more age-appropriate.  This dress is one of the prettiest dresses I’ve seen in quite a while and I love the gorgeous lace they used to accent the cap sleeve!  

picture-218Now if you’re looking for something dressy with even longer sleeves, be sure to balance it out by picking a dress in a shorter length, since you’ll be covering up most of your upper half.  With so much fabric it’s important that the fit and cut of the dress is sleek, so you don’t look like you’re drowning in fabric, or worse, dumpy!  I love the metallic material of this grey dress and becasue its’ done in a neutral shadee, you can really have fun with your accessories… and don’t forget to play up that gorgeous neckline.

And if you happen to fall in love with a strapless dress again, cover up with a cropped jacket or a tuxedo blazer that has some pretty detailing instead of a plain cardigan!   

Note:  These items are “tunics”, but I saw them in person and they are long enough to style as a dress…unless you’re 5’7″ and up!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dear CheapChica

Leave a Reply

