The Barnacle Chronicles

I was unpacking my purchases from my weekend at the King of all malls, King of Prussia, and I was listening to NPR hoping to hear some better news about the economy…well, no such luck.  But I did hear their guest refer to deal shoppers as “barnacles”, which is what retail analysts refer to us as.  He also said that stores hate “barnacles” and will do anything to keep us out of their stores, but is that really news to anyone??  I for one am going to embrace the title and make it sound like the new “it” phrase.  Moving on to more exciting things, this is what I picked up on my deal hunt:

It’s a great sunny yellow silk dress from Old Navy that I got for $15 and that will more importantly make me smile when I wear it on a dreary winter day in January…that’s priceless.  I’ll pair it with some textured tights and boots to keep my legs from freezing and layer a chunky knit cardigan over it with a great skinny belt so I don’t get lost in the mass.  I can also wear it to work with a shrunken blazer and some great patent pumps to make it look more polished.

I also picked up a great basic: a silk racerback tank/tunic in navy for $19.  I wish, wish, wish they had this in other colors because I would have picked it up in every one available.  It’s just the right length to wear over my new pLeather leggings but thin enough to tuck into some trouser jeans for a more casual look.

In times like these, knowing how to shop on a budget and looking like you didn’t just lose half your net worth is a must!

Links: Jeans, Shoes, Scarf

Leave a comment

Filed under Online Bargains

Leave a Reply

